How often should you clear your browsing history on iPhone?

How often should you clear your iPhone browser history? It is entirely up to you. Apple doesn’t give official guidance on when users should delete this information, and keeping a log of past online activity can make it easier for you to return to an item or website you forgot to put. bookmarked in the future. If that benefit doesn’t outweigh the potential downside of logging your activity, however, Apple explains how to delete your browsing history in a support document.

  1. Tap the Settings app.
  2. Scroll down and tap Safari.
  3. Tap Clear history and website data.

According to Apple, deleting this information won’t erase AutoFill information, which means you won’t lose all of your passwords and other conveniently stored information. However, this will delete browser cookies on your device, as well as other browsing data in addition to browser history. That’s not a bad thing, though, as cookies can track you, take up storage space, and possibly slow down performance.

If you are using a third-party web browser installed on your iPhone instead of Safari, you will need to delete your browsing history from the browser itself. In Chrome, for example, this involves tapping the menu button, then tapping History > Clear browsing data. Mozilla has a similar menu layout, although users need to tap the menu button and then History > Clear recent history.

Comments are closed.