How to Use Private Browsing on Your Oculus Quest 2

Meta

Your Oculus Quest 2 comes with the Oculus Browser, which will allow you to browse the web privately without keeping track of your browsing history. Here’s how to quickly enable private browsing on the Quest 1 and Quest 2 headsets.

How does private browsing work on the Oculus Quest 2?

Just like private browsing in a desktop web browser like Google Chrome, private mode in the Oculus browser is not a way to hide your browsing history from your ISP, business, school, or the websites you visit. visit.

Instead, it will prevent other people using the Oculus Browser on your Oculus Quest 1 or 2 headset from seeing your browsing activity while you were using private mode. When you exit Private Mode, the Oculus Browser erases browsing history, cookies, site data, and temporary files created during the session.

Additionally, it’s important to know that while private browsing on the Quest, any bookmarks you create and files you download will still be visible to other users of your Quest device. So, for maximum privacy, do not tag or upload anything sensitive.

How to browse privately on Oculus Quest 2

First, open the Oculus browser on your Quest 1 or Quest 2 device (these same instructions work for both). You can find it in your app library, which you can access by clicking on the nine-dot grid in the universal menu near the bottom of your vantage point.

Click on "Navigator" in your Oculus App Library.

When the Oculus browser opens, click on the three-dot menu button in the upper right corner of the window.

In the Oculus browser, click the three-dot menu button in the upper right corner of the window.

In the menu that appears, click on “Enter private mode”.

In the Oculus browser, click "Enter private mode."

Once you enter private mode, you will see a message telling you how the mode works. When browsing in private mode, you will see a purple icon (of a hat and glasses) in the upper right corner of the window.

When you’re done and want to exit private browsing, click the three-dot menu button in the corner of the browser window. In the menu that appears, select “Exit private mode”.

In the Oculus browser, click "Exit private mode."

After that you will be back in normal browsing mode. All browsing activity will now be recorded in your history, which you can clear by clicking the menu button and selecting “Clear browsing data”. Stay safe!

RELATED: The Oculus Quest 2 is awesome, and it’s the future of VR

Comments are closed.