KDE launches summer learning initiative in 30 districts; provides online resources for everyone – Kentucky Teacher

Thirty districts have been selected to participate in this year’s Summer Boost: Reading and Mathematics program, a partnership between the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE), the Summer Food Service Program and the Children’s Reading Foundation.

The program will promote family engagement in reading and math by distributing free books and fun items – such as bracelets, bookmarks and magnets – intended to motivate and remind families to read 20 minutes every day. Each of the 30 districts will receive over 800 books to distribute at their dining locations. Families interested in having their child participate should contact their local summer food service for information on meal service locations in their district.

Children can lose up to three months of literacy and numeracy skills during summer vacation when they don’t have the opportunity to practice what they’ve learned during the school year. While it’s always important to keep children and students engaged in summer reading and math, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought more visibility to the need for accelerated learning.

Summer Boost Coordinators will also direct families to KDE’s online summer support web pages, which are available to all families in Kentucky. The Summer Support webpages offer information and resources to encourage students and families to incorporate learning into daily summer routines in Kentucky communities.

“One of our favorite Summer Boost resources is a read-aloud series, which I’m honored to be a part of this year. We have a virtual collection of books read by a variety of Kentuckians, including even a few authors and Kentucky storytellers,” Education Commissioner Jason E. Glass said.

Other resources available on the web pages include information for families and caregivers, as well as resources on literacy, math, and gifted and talented people.

Districts participating in the Summer Boost: Reading and Mathematics program include:

  • Adair County
  • Augusta Independent
  • Independent of Berea
  • Independent Green Bowling
  • Boyd County
  • Bullitt County
  • Calloway County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Independent Cave
  • Clark County
  • Independent of Danville
  • Fairview Independent
  • Floyd County
  • Fulton County
  • Grayson County
  • Harrison County
  • Henderson County
  • Jackson Independent
  • Jefferson County
  • Lee County
  • County of Lyons
  • McCracken County
  • Montgomery County
  • Owensboro Independent
  • Robertson County
  • Taylor County
  • Webster County
  • Williamstown Independent
  • Williamsburg Independent

Comments are closed.